Kneeboarding in the USA


Mr Pete Salassi Good Sportsman

A sportsmanship award  is one of the greatest honors a member can receive.

Mr Pete Salassi Scholarship

In honour of the late Mr. Pete Salassi scholarships may be awarded annually in amounts no less than $500. 

National Records

Class T (record capability) Tournament Requirements

All record tournaments must include a Slalom and/or Tricks event.  Freestyle and Flipout are optional.

Athlete of the Year

Each year the AKA selects  Female and Male athletes of the year.  The winner of this prestigious award is honored at the annual January USA Water Ski & Wake Sports Awards Banquet.

International Records

 Performance Records

•  In any division, a Slalom, Trick, Freestyle, or Flipout score in International  Competition  shall be considered for a record if it equals or exceeds the official record set as of the prior International Competition..

•  Run-offs  or ties  are used  solely  for determining  placement  and  a score  achieved  in  the running  off of a tie  is not considered for a record.

Active Ambassador


Huge Congratulations to John Haile.   The American Kneeboard Association presented John with the  Inaqural  "Active   Ambassador Award " at the USA Waterski & Wake Sports awards banquet on  January  26, 2019.

International Rule Book (Rider Cup)

The purpose of these rules is to help introduce people to the fun sport of International competitive kneeboarding, provide consistent and fair standards for International competition, and to help educate the public on ways to have more fun and generally improve individual skills in kneeboarding.

Elite Athletes


Elite athletes” are defined as athletes who have  demonstrated their qualifications as athletes by demonstrating within the five (5) preceding years.  1. Competed in the Open Age Division - OR

2. Finished in the top half of any age restricted division, excluding Jr. Girls, Jr. Boys, Girls, Boys, at the AK National Championships - OR

3. Finished in the top half of the National Overall Points System in any  division, excluding Jr. Girls, Jr. Boys, Girls, Boys.

Past Leadership


A special thank you is extended to the volunteer leaders present and past, with special emphasis on the four gentlemen that made our exciting sport possible. Our founding fathers are Randy Andrus, Richard Brown, Lonnie Marchand, Chuck Purdy.